« living my life online, just for you | Main | VI? jeesh I want pico! »

God must love moron's

That's the only reason so explain why he made so many...... So i've been getting dictionary attacks of virus's to a bunch of emails at my site: julie (at) dennisjudd (dot) com
dslreguser (at) dennisjudd (dot) com
bill (at) dennisjudd (dot) com And they are all coming from the same damn IP address of 63.161.118.40. Which belongs to:
OrgName: The Sheraton Overland Park
OrgID: SOP-10
Address: 6000 College Blvd.
City: OverlandPark
StateProv: KS
PostalCode: 66211
Country: US NetRange: 63.161.118.32 - 63.161.118.47
CIDR: 63.161.118.32/28
NetName: SPRINTLINK
NetHandle: NET-63-161-118-32-1
Parent: NET-63-160-0-0-1
NetType: Reassigned
Comment:
RegDate: 2002-11-12
Updated: 2002-11-12 TechHandle: GMI5-ARIN
TechName: Middleton, George
TechPhone: +1-913-451-7400
TechEmail: gmikkleton@opconventioncenter.com OrgTechHandle: GMI5-ARIN
OrgTechName: Middleton, George
OrgTechPhone: +1-913-451-7400
OrgTechEmail: gmikkleton@opconventioncenter.com Now I googled the place and actually called them. Now can you only imagine the joy in explaining what a /28 is to pablo the front desk person. So after talking to his "computer guy" (...and I bet he's even certified) they (Pablo, the wonder tech/front desk guy) tell me that they dont have any SMTP servers onsite. So pablo transfer's me to their dedicated Sprint tech support....and here I sit smack in the middle of "smooth jazz hold music" limbo. Actually the guy at sprint/Frank was pretty nice about the whole thing (me not being a customer and all) so we'll see what happens. Supposedly he's escilating it to an engineer. So the summary is: Don't open email's that just say "hi" or "hello', and especially don't open strange zip files called "document.zip" or "body.zip". Fucking virus's......guess I should head home.

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.dennisjudd.com/cgi-bin/mt-tb.cgi/239

Comments

DATE:

Well I couldn't really have known that now could I? I pulled that information straight from ARIN.

Ex:

http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=!%20NET-208-15-41-96-1

Of course this was roughly an hour before I found out is was the MyDoom bug making it's way around the web. So at least it wasn't a personal attack like I was afraid of at first. But it was also before the virus def's were out, so I had to clean my laptop (firewall blocked the smtp server, but the zombie ports were open) :-(

DATE:

Dude. It's "gmiddleton@opconventioncenter.com". No "k's"


--------

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)